My photography practice is entwined with my interest in the relationship between human beings and the natural world.

As the Modern, industrial, consumerist way of life has spread around the world, it has created a global crisis that threatens human civilisation. My practice is to document and comment upon this crisis. I approach this in three ways:

I bear Witness to the way in which the Earth is harmed.

I celebrate what remains of the Wild Earth, the wilderness and diversity that is the source of all life, including our own.

I celebrate the actions of those who Rebel against the destruction of Earth and seek to amplify their actions and achievements.

The current crisis is devastating for the Earth, but it will survive. The fate of human civilisation is less certain. If we do not make urgent and radical changes to the way that billions of people live, human life will become very difficult. This is the story of our time and the story that I am committed to address in my practice.

As part of the Rebel aspect of my practice, I work with Extinction Rebellion to record their actions and protests. My work is regularly published in news sources to illustrate these events.

MA Photography from Falmouth University

Associate of the Royal Photographic Society (ARPS)

BA (Hons) Humanities from the University of Brighton.

Social Media

Twitter https://twitter.com/chrisjerrey

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/chrisjerrey/

Exhibitions

August 2021 – Source – Graduate Photography Online 2021
https://www.source.ie/graduate/2021/falmunivma/falmunivma_index.php

August 2021 – Retake The World https://flounder-blenny-4z7s.squarespace.com/

July 2021 – Photographic Museum of Humanity online https://phmuseum.com/cjerrey/grant-submission/37127

June 2021 – Earth Photo 2021, Royal Geographical Society, Kensington, London
(shortlisted in the Climate of Change category)
https://www.earthphoto.world/2021exhibition

October 2020 – Photo Fringe 2020, online https://2020.photofringe.org/exhibitions/rebel-for-life

September 2020 – contributed to Drilling Through the Anthropocene curated by Alice Owen https://extractingus.org/contributors/alice-owen/

August 2019 – Landings 2019, single-artist show at Martells, East Grinstead

Published

13/09/2022

The Big Issue https://www.bigissue.com/news/activism/right-to-protest-explainer/

19/07/2022

Sussex Express https://www.sussexexpress.co.uk/news/people/east-sussex-councillor-accused-of-violently-shoving-extinction-rebellion-protestor-in-lewes-3775200 (pics 1 & 3)

01/04/2022

BBC News https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-60951403.amp (Pink Boat pic)

22/02/2022

The Big Issue https://www.bigissue.com/news/activism/right-to-protest-explainer/

28/01/2022

The Big Issue https://www.bigissue.com/news/activism/how-to-organise-a-protest-the-big-issues-guide/

13/11/2021

Sky News https://news.sky.com/story/cop26-sky-news-live-blog-latest-updates-12444096

29/10/2021

Buzz Mag https://www.buzzmag.co.uk/sophie-howe-future-generations-act-interview/

02/09/2021

City AM https://www.cityam.com/extinction-rebellion-block-roads-bank-of-engalnd/

London News Online https://londonnewsonline.co.uk/climate-protestors-block-tower-bridge-as-residents-return-from-holiday-break/

19/08/2021

Evening Argus https://www.theargus.co.uk/news/19525439.extinction-rebellion-blockade-exxonmobil-hampshire-refinery/

17/06/2021

National Geographic Spain https://www.nationalgeographic.com.es/naturaleza/earth-photo-2021-historias-nuestro-planeta_17030

01/06/2021

The National https://www.thenational.scot/news/uk-news/19342093.oil-terminal-blocked-greenwash-protest-extinction-rebellion-activists/

Evening Standard https://www.standard.co.uk/news/uk/extinction-rebellion-government-cornwall-hamble-england-b938245.html

The Independent https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/terminal-blocked-extinction-rebellion-protest-b1857619.html

Irish Examiner https://www.irishexaminer.com/world/arid-40303601.html

Northern Echo https://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/news/national/19342093.oil-terminal-blocked-greenwash-protest-extinction-rebellion-activists/

Oxford Mail https://www.oxfordmail.co.uk/news/national/19342093.oil-terminal-blocked-greenwash-protest-extinction-rebellion-activists/

12/12/2020

Sussex Bylines https://sussexbylines.co.uk/hungry-for-action-an-environmental-protest-fast/

03/08/2020

Surrey Mirror print edition and online https://www.getsurrey.co.uk/news/surrey-news/extinction-rebellion-protest-horse-hill-18706182